Portobello fries.

whatscooking

I’ve been thinking of portobello fries since I left LA. Haha, if you haven’t, catch up on this awesome portobello fries at Bottega Louie here. Yes, I was determined to re-create this dish today. I googled and came across a few recipes here and here.

In the first recipe, the blogger mentioned ‘Wondra’ as the secret ingredient to this dish. Wonder what’s that? I didn’t know what it is so I googled and found out that it is a type of flour used to thicken gravy/sauces, something like cornstarch. As the portobello fries pictures didn’t quite resemble what I had at Bottega Louie, I incorporated this Wondra into the abovementioned 2nd recipe.

What I did was pretty similar to what acozykitchen recipe is, except for a few minor differences:
– I fried it instead of baking.
– I didn’t add garlic powder and oregano into the fries.
– for the basil aioli, I didn’t add pressed garlic as I was already using a garlic mayo. Also, I used truffle oil instead of olive oil.

DSC_4014
DSC_4015
DSC_4016
DSC_4017
DSC_4020
DSC_4022

Steps: After cleaning and slicing up the mushrooms, I sprinkle salt all over them. Let it sit for a few minutes before dusting Wondra all over it. Did a quick and thorough dip into the beaten eggs and roll it in the breadcrumbs mixture.

Here’s for the dip.
DSC_4024
Blend them all but the mayo. Stir in the mayo when the ingredients are all mashed up. I used about 15g of basil, 5 tbs of mayo, 2 tbs of oil, some salt and 1/4 lemon (which is too much! should stick to the 1/2 tsp as mentioned in above recipe.)

Ta-dah!
DSC_4039
Bottom left: Portobello fries with cheese.
Top: Original portobello fries.
Bottom right: Baked chicken by Mr LY.
LY arranged this plate while I was busy frying and cleaning up the kitchen, so I didn’t get to snap a lot of pictures, nor arrange some greens on the plate.

And the greens and dip came by the side.
DSC_4045

Wooh! I would not say it is anything close to what I had in Bottega, but good try Joanna! Haha.

Areas of improvement:
– Do not leave the cut mushrooms out for too long, it loses its moisture and so it doesn’t taste as juicy as it should be.
– Switch on a bigger heat and don’t overcook the mushrooms because it will lose its moisture as well.
– The original tastes much nicer than the parmesan coated ones based on LY’s review.
– Slice the mushrooms thicker! I did mine about 1-1.5 cm thickness and they were too thin. This affects its texture because the mushrooms shrink quite a bit when frying.

It’s rainy Saturday in Dallas. I don’t like rainy days so it was nice to just stay home and whip up dishes. Have a good weekend people!


5 thoughts on “Portobello fries.

  1. I’m so happy that I found your post today. I have had great portobello fries and now I have the technique down pat. I remember the first time I did a post that mentioned Wondra which I use all the time. My readers in other countries had no idea what I was talking about.

Leave a comment