DSLR inserts.

Was shopping for a camera bag weeks ago. Couldn’t find any that I really like. Was choosing between these:

Lowepro Passport Sling Camera Bag (Mica)


A camera bag that absolutely doesn’t look like one. This is the top factor when I’m choosing a camera bag. It has to be as easy to match (with most outfits) as possible, so that I can bring it out on day to day/casual basis. I don’t need ample storage space for that purpose.

However

Timbuk2 The Snoop Camera Messenger Bag will be perfect for a carry-all bag, suitable for travel and outdoor.

I know it wouldn’t be a fair comparison between the Lowepro sling and Timbuk2 because it serves very different purposes.

Then, there’s the Crumpler 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Million Dollar Bag.


So.. which one? After going through so many different options for camera bags..

I finally decided to create my own camera bag (s)!

TA-DAH!

DSC_0119

That’s my old crumpler bag! I bought the below Domke 720-250D DSLR Camera Insert from Amazon to fit into my abandoned crumpler that was tuck at the back of my wardrobe.

DSC_0116

It fits my bag just nice, but I was unable to insert the camera with the lens facing downwards into the bag, there wasn’t enough support to hold it in that position. However, my bag is big enough for me to place the camera in, in a “sitting” position, the addition pockets allow me to put in flash/additional lens and all.

At the same time, I also bought DSLR Camera Insert – Compact from Amazon to fit into my porter bag.

DSC_0197
DSC_0198

The insert fits snugly in my porter. And I must say, the quality of the padding feels much better than the above Domke’s. As my porter bag is a lot smaller than the crumpler, I’m able to insert my camera with its lens downwards into the bag. This makes taking camera in and out of bag easier. However, there isn’t a lot of space left for accessories.

***

If you are confused about which camera bag to get, why not consider buying inserts and you could transform your favourite bag to your camera bag. Remember to choose a ‘tough’ bag for the inserts though. I pick my own crumpler and porter because these bags have proven its durability and been with me to many places throughout the years. Most importantly, measure well before you purchase.

Oh I forgot to add, pick a unisex-looking bag so your guy can help with the carrying of the heavy camera bag. *hee.

Yay! Let the photo-taking adventure begins!

3 thoughts on “DSLR inserts.

Leave a Reply

