Sara Lee Pound Cake.

whatsbaking

Ahhhhhh. Failed.

DSC_4069
DSC_4071

I followed this recipe with minor adjustments as I did not have those ingredients.

As per recipe:

Ingredients
1/4 pound or 1 stick unsalted butter
3/4 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 cup cake flour
2 tablespoons dry powdered milk – I replaced with regular milk, 3 tbs.
1 tablespoon corn syrup – I replaced with brown sugar, 1 tbs.
juice of half a small lemon – I followed this but it turned out a little too much of the lemony taste in the cake.
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg – I added nutmeg but I thought it’s the nutmeg that makes the cake smell and taste a little weird. I don’t remember tasting this in Sara Lee’s.
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon mace (optional) – I didn’t add this.
Instructions
Allow butter to reach room temperature, if you can try to use unsalted butter. Cream sugar and butter together until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time and mix well. Add in flour, powdered milk, and corn syrup. Beat each in well. Add juice of half a lemon, salt, vanilla, nutmeg, and mace. Make sure everything is well blended, and pour into a greased loaf pan. Bake at 325 degrees for 45 minutes, checking for done-ness by inserting a toothpick and seeing if it comes out clean. You almost want to under bake this.

Overall, the cake turns out really soft, but I felt that it is not dense enough. Also I think I added too much lemon in it or it could be the nutmeg, it doesn’t smell or taste like a butter cake.

Does anyone else have another butter pound cake recipe to share?

2 thoughts on “Sara Lee Pound Cake.

Leave a Reply

