Mac n Cheese.

whatscooking

With the macaroni leftovers, I attempted mac n cheese. Original recipe can be found here.

Ingredients

8 ounces uncooked elbow macaroni
2 cups shredded sharp Cheddar cheese
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
3 cups milk
1/4 cup butter
2 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1 pinch paprika – Omitted because I didn’t have it.

Directions

Cook macaroni according to the package directions. Drain.
In a saucepan, melt butter or margarine over medium heat. Stir in enough flour to make a roux. Add milk to roux slowly, stirring constantly. Stir in cheeses, and cook over low heat until cheese is melted and the sauce is a little thick. Put macaroni in large casserole dish, and pour sauce over macaroni. Stir well.
Melt butter or margarine in a skillet over medium heat. Add breadcrumbs and brown. Spread over the macaroni and cheese to cover. Sprinkle with a little paprika.
Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 30 minutes. Serve.

I never like cheese. Back in SG, I will NEVER touch anything associated with cheese. After I came to the States, I start to accept cheese bit by bit so these days, I’m able to eat cheesecakes and pizzas, so long the smell is not too pungent. However, mac and cheese is still quite the impossible for me. I feel like puking the whole time I’m cooking, imagine that!

The ingredients I used.
DSC_4093
DSC_4095

Making the roux.
DSC_4096
DSC_4097
DSC_4102

Add the milk and cheeses.
DSC_4104

Pour the thickened sauce over the macaroni. Stir well.
DSC_4105

Spread the browned breadcrumbs evenly over the macaroni.
DSC_4106

Baked for 30 minutes and here you go!
DSC_4112

So, how does it taste? Haha I don’t dare to taste it so I get LY to try and see if it requires further salt and pepper. He said it is quite delicious! Hmm 敷衍我 or not, I’ll never know! He just have to finish it.

One thought on “Mac n Cheese.

Leave a Reply

